This is this is the fourth part of my first ever Weekly Series. A five part series where this week I’m looking at Things I’m Loving Right Now. Little things that are making my day to day life that little bit better.

Plant Nanny

This post is not sponsored. All thoughts are my own. 

I don’t drink enough. Not alcohol obviously, just in terms of General hydration. I know I don’t because in days there I do have plenty to drink I always feel so much better and function to a higher level than dehydrated me ever managed. My problem is just that I forget. Or I decided maybe I’m hungry and that should just have a biscuit. (This is never the case but so often I go for this option). So I need something to help me keep track and provide an incentive.

I have an iPhone. And before that I had an android. On my my lovely little android phone I had a FANTASTIC app called Drink Water where you recorded all the drinks you had during the day as a method of tracking your water intake. It was fantastic and I was most upset to find it wasn’t available on the App Store. It’s probably the only thing I have struggled to find a good replacement for. Until now.


I have tried countless water tracking apps but they just weren’t doing it for me, they were boring. You couldn’t customise the cup size or icons to represent differs drinks which I was used to. They didn’t show a back log of what you’d had that day, just the running total.

Plant Nanny doesn’t really do that either. You can have limited icons and to a degree adjust the amounts (although it is only to the nearest 50ml so trying to record a 330ml can of pop is a nightmare).


What it does do is give you a virtual plant that you wanted every time you record a drink. After a while it grows and levels up until you get to move it from your window sill and out into the garden.

If you don’t drink enough one day, the plant looks seriously poorly the next. Apparently it can die but I’ve never let it get that far. I feel too much responsibility towards my fictional foliage friends!


The anticipation of how each plant will grow up is really an incentive for me. I’m not sure why, but it’s been working for me for a good while and anything that helps me to live a healthier lifestyle is good in my book!

Come back tomorrow for the final part in this Weekly Series to see what the final thing I’ve been loving is.

TTFN
Charlotte x

Day 1: Spreadsheets = happiness
Day 2: Spending day by day
Day 3: Points make prizes

