I’m not doing resolutions this year.
But I am taking the opportunity to try and remotivate myself to do better in 2017 than 2016.

I’ve tried and failed at New Years Resolutions too many times to know they don’t work for me. What has been the more successful is setting concrete goals like ‘Go to the cinema 3 times’ Things I can measure and record.

Something else I tried last year was to set a One Word Theme. A single word that is supposed to provide a focus for the year that everything can circulate around and progress towards. In 2016 I chose Stress-Less (okay so it was technically a two worder but it was what I chose). My thinking being that I wanted to experience less stress, to be calmer, happier and healthier.

It’s been an up and down year for achieving this. Things I did to help were try to get a diagnosis for the skin condition around my eyes which was causing me a lot of discomfort, pain and of course stress. I went part-time, reducing my hours to 4 days a week which really helped me with my work-life perspective. However, I also bought a house which is a stressful experience and of course I chose one that requires A LOT of renovation. I’ve had whooping cough and colds galore. I’ve ended the year with a fever. It’s been pretty stressful. But I think having that theme, that focus has helped it to be a little bit less stressful than it might’ve been.

In 2017, I’m choosing a different word. In 2017 my focus is going to be Confidence.

I am not necessarily unconfident. But it isn’t consistent. My levels of anxiety and self doubt have been up and down and all over the shop this year. I want to have the confidence to try new things and not feel scared. To make decisions. To do the things I want to do without worrying constantly about what other people want. I want to stop worrying about making everyone else happy and focus on making myself happy. I want to be confident to get out on the roads more and drive myself places. I want to be confident to wear the clothes I want to wear. To do the things I want to do. To say the things I want to say and do what’s best for me.

2017 The Year of Confidence.

TTFN
Charlotte x

